Poker Help Forums
Sunday, June 3rd, 2007

Jamie is Gold Standard for WSOP Winners

Written by Tom Somach in Poker News


Jamie Gold, winner of last year’s World Series of Poker (WSOP) main event, is the all-time leading money-earner in WSOP history.

According to statistics released by Harrah’s Entertainment Inc., owners of the WSOP, in conjunction with the start of this year’s WSOP, Gold’s $12 million prize for winning the 2006 tournament puts him at the top of the all-time WSOP money-earners, even though that’s the only time he’s ever finished in the money at a WSOP event.

The second-biggest all-time money-earner in WSOP history is Joseph Hachem, the Lebanese-Australian who won the 2005 WSOP main event.

Finishing in the money in five WSOP events lifetime, Hachem’s lifetime WSOP earnings are $7.9 million.

Third on the list of top WSOP money-earners lifetime is Paul Wasicka, who has earned $6.2 million by finishing in the money on three occasions.

Fourth on the list is Allen Cunningham, who has cashed in at 29 WSOP events in his life for total winnings of $6 million.

The fifth-biggest money-winner in WSOP history is Greg “Fossilman” Raymer, the Connecticut patent attorney and paleontology buff who won the WSOP main event in 2004.

In all he’s moneyed in five WSOP events lifetime for total earnings of $5.4 million.

Sixth on the list is the so-called “poker brat,” Phil Hellmuth Jr., also a former winner of the WSOP main event.

In all, he’s finished in the WSOP money 57 times for total winnings of $4.9 million. Seventh is T.J. Cloutier, known as one of the best poker players in the world who has never won the WSOP main event. (He’s come close a few times.)

Cashing in at 51 different WSOP events over a lifetime, his lifetime winnings are $4.3 million.

Eighth on the list of WSOP bread-winners is Steve Dannenmann, who has cashed in twice and won $4.25 million.

Ninth is Michael Binger, earning $4.22 million on two cash-ins.

Rounding out the Top 10 is David Williams, who has cashed in at six WSOP events for a total winfall of $3.9 million.

Nos. 11 through 20 in all-time WSOP earnings are two-time main event champion Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan, with $3.8 million on 35 cashes; former main event winner Dan Harrington, with $3.5 million on 10 cashes; Rhett Butler, with $3.22 million on one cash; Josh Arieh, with $3.19 million on nine cashes; former main event winner Chris “Jesus” Ferguson, with $3.14 million on 45 cashes; Erik Seidel, with $3.13 million on 42 cashes; Richard Lee, with $2.8 million on one cash; Phil Ivey, with $2.6 million on 24 cashes; two-time main event winner Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson, with $2.55 million on 28 cashes; and 2003 main event winner Chris Moneymaker, with $2.52 million on three cashes.

(E-mail Tom Somach at [email protected])

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Play Poker Now

Popular Pages
 Full Tilt Poker Referral Codes

 Poker Stars Marketing Code

 Titan Poker Bonus Code

 US Poker Sites

Search News

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.

Copyright 2003-2007 - All rights reserved.